Tuesday, August 14, 2012

While we're on the topic ...

... of Law 12 and things the GK can not do. The first of course being from "6 Second Mania", here is bullet (3) from the law:

Indirect free kick

An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offenses:

  • touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate

(Other 3 bullets omitted)

This one came up recently in Euro 2012 between Portugal and Spain, and a spectacular analysis was  performed by HK referee, which can be read at Backpass Has To Be Deliberate Kick To Keeper.

A must read!

No comments:

Post a Comment